Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: Doug Valentine

State Farm® Insurance Agent

Doug Valentine

4.7 out of 5 (115 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Profile photo of Edith Chase

Edith Chase

August 27, 2022

5  out of  5
"Great experience with Jake."
Profile photo of Kristian Day

Kristian Day

August 26, 2022

5  out of  5
"Only insurance folks in the state that understand film production."
Profile photo of Patrol Officer

Patrol Officer

May 31, 2022

5  out of  5
"Always helpful and employee r always respectful and nice n always a decent price"
Profile photo of Rhina Regina

Rhina Regina

May 27, 2022

5  out of  5
"I will go next month to open insurance with them, they are very good people helping"
Profile photo of Patricia L

Patricia L

September 25, 2021

1  out of  5
"I've been with State Farm for 10 years plus no claims. Someone else starts a fire in our condo units in 2019. Two years later I receive a letter telling me they are dropping me from my home owners insurance. They take your money for years and one claim they let you go.They will be losing me on all my other insurance plans I have with them ."
Profile photo of Liliana Lopez

Liliana Lopez

August 17, 2021

5  out of  5
"I'm currently a representative in TN, and just have to give kudos to this office! A client of ours moved to the cedar rapids area and Molly has been fantastic! If you're moving from out of State to the Cedar Rapids area, this is the place you need to be at!"
Profile photo of Lisa Phillips

Lisa Phillips

May 19, 2021

5  out of  5
"I am always pleased with how helpful everyone is. I get great service at a fair price. Everyone is friendly and professional. I am very happy with this company and everyone I have interacted with. I highly recommend them."
Profile photo of Daniel Usher

Daniel Usher

April 6, 2021

5  out of  5
"Great rates, excellent service, very timely. Definitely the best provider I've had (and I've had American Family, Progressive, and MetLife)."
Profile photo of Thomas Smith

Thomas Smith

February 26, 2021

5  out of  5
"Hands down the best insurance agency in the area! I was fortunate to work with Matt Kolln to get a variety of insurances bundled and complete coverage for my wife and I. It was such a simple and easy process where I felt like my best interests were being thought of first. I have worked with other insurance companies in the past but this office is by far the best that I have been with. I won't ever work with anyone other than Matt from here on out!"
Profile photo of Will Harreld

Will Harreld

February 15, 2021

5  out of  5
"I have worked with Doug's office a couple of times and directly with Doug on a few occasions, the last one in regards to my claims from the Derecho storm. The team, and especially Doug have proven to be professional and diligent in making sure I recieved what I am paying for. I am happy to say that I have State Farm Insurance provided and supported by the Doug Valentine Office! Thank you again Doug and team, Will Harreld"
Profile photo of JJ Corkhill

JJ Corkhill

January 27, 2021

5  out of  5
"Austin was very helpful, professional, answered all my questions and addressed my concerns, and Ben got me a better rate on my homeowners! (Auto too, which is why I switched) He made the entire process super easy and non stressful -Cindy Corkhill"
Profile photo of Doug Stealey

Doug Stealey

January 8, 2021

5  out of  5
"Following the August derecho, we submitted claims related to our condo and one of our vehicles. We received great support from the Valentine agency and from State Farm Claims staff. The details were handled professionally and payments were processed promptly. Thanks for always being there for our family."
Profile photo of Connie Sanders

Connie Sanders

December 29, 2020

5  out of  5
"Very busy but very helpful. Not so happy with their "Drive Safe and Save" program. I understand they're working on it but I would not recommend it at this time. Doug asked me to reconsider my review. If State Farm would compensate me for the discount I was promised (and earned) I would be happy to communicate that. Unfortunately, that hasn't happened."
Profile photo of David Elton

David Elton

December 21, 2020

1  out of  5
"Doug is the "Consummate Con-Man" He went on and on tell my Wife and myself how must better it is to have a local agent down the street, rather than having to communicate via a 1-800 number with the company we were currently with. And that state farm would have done a much better payout on a vehicle which was previously totaled . We listened and sadly went with state farm. After the derecho, another one of our vehicles was damaged..took it to doug's office, one of his associates filed a claim, we thought, and we went to a body shop...another car totaled..I called dougs office to talk to the individual who had filed the claim..guess what? One was never filed..had to start all over with a new individual. A few days later I get a call from State Farm corporate giving me a dollar amount to come and get the car, and that they would make arrangements to pick it up...I said "Wait" I never said I was giving up the car, it is drivable.."Oh" the lady said, well I am showing that you owe a lien on it...I informed her that the car, a 2008 had been payed off in 2013, and that she had to check with the previous lien holder showing it was clear, she said "No" I have to produce the title.....Yet another trip over to doug's office so they could make a copy of My title. I then got a call from corporate saying that they will issue a check, which was a pittance in comparison to the car's value...so much for state farm doing better than our last company...10 days go by, no check....I call dougs office, or try too..kept getting voice mail..no one would answer the phone...I finaly talk to 2 differnt people who have no idea about my claim, or "what I want"..By this time heated words were exchanged, oh, after getting hung up on 3 times prior to heated words......My Wife then called told them that to wait 19 days for a check that was supposidly mailed is unacceptable, and then was then told they would write the check from their office if she would pick it up. She goes to the office, and the 4 morons there start talking about the "fact" that the car in question had been turned in to state farm...MY wife lost her cool and asked how simply must it be explained to you idiots that the car is in our driveway. perfectly usuable and that we had NEVER considered turning it over, and does no one in the office note any events/happenings in customers accounts?????????? We have since switched insurance companies...bottom line, doug valentine will promise and tell you anything to get your business....and then "dissappears"....The office "staff" he hires dont have the common sense of an average 12 yrs old. If you value your property and sanity DO NOT do business with him or state farm"
Profile photo of Shaun Krug

Shaun Krug

September 17, 2020

5  out of  5
"Great to work with, very helpful employees."
Profile photo of Don

Don

September 5, 2020

5  out of  5
"Doug is the best insurance agent I've ever had. He and his staff are always friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!"
Profile photo of Rick Nelson

Rick Nelson

September 1, 2020

5  out of  5
"Doug has been great to work with overcthe past several years. State Farm has handled every claim we've had very quickly with no issues. Never felt pressured and they've been great to help save money."
Profile photo of Rachel Buresh

Rachel Buresh

August 24, 2020

5  out of  5
"Doug and his team are ALWAYS kind, listen, and empathetic to our needs. Everyone makes sure they treat you with dignity and respect. I want to make sure people know how wonderful they are and insightful and professional at every thing they do. I am beyond Amazed because most companies don’t treat you like family but a number and I can honestly say they do not. Thanks Doug and your Wonderful team."
Profile photo of Dawn Ainger

Dawn Ainger

August 18, 2020

5  out of  5
"We've been a customer of Doug for over a decade. When storms hit our home, he and his team were responsive, thorough, caring, and reliable. When you've been through a disaster, communication is key to recovery. Doug and his team not only got us the resources we needed, but also made sure that they communicated with us so that we knew where the process was at. Great job, Doug, team and State Farm!"
Profile photo of Carol Rath

Carol Rath

August 18, 2020

5  out of  5
"Best insurance company there is!"
Profile photo of Mollie Schakel

Mollie Schakel

August 7, 2020

5  out of  5
"Great service"
Profile photo of Daniel Worthington

Daniel Worthington

March 17, 2020

5  out of  5
"Molly Kimbro is an outstanding agent! I had just moved back to Iowa at the end of February and was needing auto and renters insurance. I saw all the positive reviews for this office and decided to walk in two days before signing my new lease. I was enthusiastically greeted by Molly and Doug and felt welcome and relaxed the entire time. Not only did Molly reduce my auto insurance premium, she also increased my coverage! Not only does this office care about it's customers, they care about each other too. Doug stopped in several times to check on the progress we were making. It was very obvious that Doug cares about customers and his coworkers equally. I will be visiting with Molly and the staff in a few days to discuss my life insurance and see what they can offer. I know I'll receive the same outstanding service again! Thanks to all of the staff at Doug Valentine and keep up the great work!"
Profile photo of Brand Schu

Brand Schu

March 11, 2020

1  out of  5
"Ridiculous amount of junk mail for many many years. Be scared to let this guy get your address."
Profile photo of Blessing Carnes

Blessing Carnes

March 10, 2020

5  out of  5
"Great friendly service!"
Profile photo of Rita Drager

Rita Drager

March 4, 2020

5  out of  5
"Austin is a great asset, keep him on your team. He was very helpful and explained everything as we went through it and what it meant for me.. You saved me over$70 . I will and have recommended you to friends. Thank you for your professional support and advice"